I’m Natural Now! Meet my Kinky-Coily Hair!

Hello 2KL family! I have a special announcement to make on here and that is I am natural now!

My TWA

My TWA

I just wanted to share this wonderful time with all of you and a little bit about my transition journey. My last relaxer was in May of 2013 for my sister’s wedding. My transition wasn’t very thought out in that I was totally mind-set on NOT relaxing, but instead, my attitude was let’s see how far I can go with this. It was not my first time I had tried to grow out my hair.

The first few months up until I was 5 months post came and went very quickly and easily. When I was relaxed, I waited 3-4 months between touch-ups. When 6 months post came around, it was make it or break it period for me. It seems like ALL the products I had no longer gave me slip or detangled my hair as easily as before. My technique on washing and detangling my hair seemed to only make my hair more tangled and broken off. I decided to give in and CHANGE my whole haircare routine, I had to at that point if I wanted any hair left over. I changed and when I started to completely cater to my natural hair, things got better.

After 6-7 months post, I had a new wash and style routine/technique down and saw my hair grow and flourish from it. In July of this year after my one year transition start anniversary, I went and got my hair straightened for another wedding.

Air Dried 1 year post Relaxer Hair

Air Dried 1 year post Relaxer Hair

Air Dried 1 year post Relaxer Hair

Air Dried 1 year post Relaxer Hair

Straightened Hair Post 1 year Relaxer

Straightened Hair Post 1 year Relaxer

Straightened Hair Post 1 year Relaxer

Straightened Hair Post 1 year Relaxer

I got about 1-2 inches trimmed off because of horrible breakage, so I was pretty much armpit length again. While it was exciting to see how much my hair improved, I didn’t like seeing myself with straight hair and missed my CURLIES! So I decided I would cut off the relaxer for my birthday instead of waiting til May of 2015 like I originally wanted.

Even thought I big chopped I still got it straight one last time to see what my length actually is since SHRINKAGE FOOLS US ALL. So below are photos of my natural straight hair and then my kinky-coily natural hair in ALL it’s GLORY!

Big Chop Straight Hair

Big Chop Straight Hair

Big Chop Straight Hair

Big Chop Straight Hair

My TWA

My TWA

My TWA

My TWA

So I hope you all enjoyed this post. I am getting back into the swing of filming my Youtube videos again so click the link to check them out.

Thanks for reading and I look forward to putting more posts for you all to read and enjoy here on 2KinkyLadies =]

 

 

Leave a Reply

