Top Lip Balms for Wintery-Dry Lips!

The skin on our lips dries out faster than any other part of our bodies and dry winter weather doesn’t do anything to help alleviate that dryness. Christina and I have gotten together to share our favorite lip balms under $10 to help our readers quench thirsty lips on a budget.

Evolution of Smooth/EoS ($3.99 USD)

EOS

Christina: These cute little egg shaped lipbalms are PERFECT for people on the go who kind of want to make a statement with their lipbalm (yes, there are people like that, guilty as charged). I admit for falling for the packaging since it’s a circle instead of the usually twist up tube. There are currently 7 different scents/flavours. Each claim to be all natural and full of anti-oxidants. These products are translucent on the lips, but in my experience the scent STRENGTH differs from one balm to another. I have used 3 different ones, Honeysuckle Honeydew, Lemon Drop, and Summer Fruit. While these keep my lips moisturized, I feel the level of dryness your lips are will affect the lasting ability of the softness and smooth that EOS promises.

Burt’s Bees ($3.30 – 4.99 USD)

SAM_0230

Christina: Burt’s Bees definitely has a wide range of scents, flavours, and treatments for any lip product junkie! With lipbalms, I usally gravitate towards ANYTHING that has ULTRA conditioning or hydrating in the name. Beside the menthol scent and taste, I really enjoyed this product. Other winners from Burt’s Bees lipbalm line are the Honey and Natural Beeswax lippies! All Burt’s lip balms promise 100% natural ingredients and many boast to have various vitamins, butters, and fruit oils to make your lips feel the best! I have to admit, I think with using Burt’s my lips LOOKED their best after continuous use =]

Tori: One of the first products I ever tried from Burt’s Bees was their lip balm line. The products from Burt’s Bees are all natural so I wanted to give them a shot. I wasn’t disappointed. I’ve tried both their Pomegranate and Honey lip balms. The scent isn’t particularly powerful, if you like that kind of thing, but my lips were supple and smooth after each use.

Maybelline Baby Lips ($2.97 – 4.99 USD)

SAM_0235 SAM_0237

Christina: I first tried Maybelline’s Baby Lips when they introduced their Neon collection and I was HOOKED from then on. Like every lip balm, it moisturizes and conditions and all that other good stuff, but after the product melted into your lips and dries down a bit (during the time when NORMALLY I would feel the need to reapply), I did not feel the need to reapply. My lips looked moisturized and FELT moisturized!

Tori: I was turned on to Baby Lips after a coworker raved about them. I had always passed them over thinking their bright colors and name were more marketed toward kids and was iffy about the $4 – 5 price tag as I normally pay under $3 for Carmex or ChapStick, but I have to admit it was worth it. Baby Lips is the right name for it. This is one of my favorite lip balms! The scents are like candy, my lips were super soft and moisturized with a very light, silky gloss. As Christina stated, after the span of time I would normally have to reapply, I didn’t need to because my lips were still pretty moist. The hydration of the skin lasts for a few hours after application before needing to be reapplied. The only minus I can give this product is that it looks like a kiddie lip balm.

Smith’s Rosebud Salve ($6 USD)

SAM_0225 SAM_0227

Christina: Apparently, RoseBud Perfume Co. has been around since the 1880s! Loved by makeup artists and considered a ‘cult favorite’, I was ashamed of myself for never even hearing of this product. For $6, I decided to give it a try. It comes in a circle tin can that you just pop the top off and use your fingers to apply. I normally do not get lip balms in this form just because my HANDS touch some NASTY things working with animals. YES, I do wash my hands, but I am ALWAYS paranoid about things I may have missed. Anyway, this is VERY thick on the lips, but I like that. It makes me feel like it won’t travel all other my face and LAST longer than traditional lip balms. Well, I am enjoying it so far…..it does remind me of Vaseline Petroleum Jelly….just with perfume added, BUT you can be the judge of that!

Carmex

20140102-005125.jpg

Tori: Originally, I never bothered with Carmex because it seemed to be marketed as a basic medicated but effective lip balm for men, meaning no thrills or frills in the scent and flavor department, no bright colors, no tints, no shimmer etc. I happened to have misplaced my own lip balm and my husband offered his Carmex. My lips were cracking so I had no room to refuse. I was quite surprised at the brand’s moisturizing capabilities. It’s no Baby Lips, but the formula penetrates and heals dry, cracked lips to soften and gently slough off dead skin. The menthol makes for a slight tingle and the feeling of airy lips. They come in a small variety of flavors other than the original Carmex lip balm, such as cherry and pomegranate, and all contain SPF. It is also available not only as a stick, but a tin or a tube. Carmex falls just below Baby Lips and Nivea because while it is moisturizing, I find it a little sticky and waxy and the moisture doesn’t last quite as long.

Nivea Lip Butter ($4 -5 USD)

20140102-003337.jpg

Tori: Now THIS lip balm is a new favorite. It’s a new product from Nivea so I had to give it a go. They come in mild flavors (Vanilla & Macadamia Kiss, Caramel Cream Kiss, Raspberry Rosé Kiss, and an original, minty formula called Smooth Kiss), but this lip butter I put on par with Baby Lips. In fact, I think Nivea Lip Butter is better than Baby Lips. As with the Maybelline lip balm, my lips stay moisturized and soft for long periods of time, but little bit of it goes a long way. The texture is similar to a thick vaseline-cocoa butter blend, but it glides on thin, creamy, and smooth. This butter is packed with other moisturizing oils, such as shea butter (hence the cocoa butter consistency), castor seed oil, sweet almond oil , and petrolatum (hence the vaseline-like texture) and also contains water and glycerin to pull in a little moisture from the air. Nivea Lip Butters HEAL cracks and dry, peeling lips while conditioning the skin, leaving lips that are soft and smooth long after the product has worn off. These lip butters are for those who like the effectiveness of Baby Lips, but don’t care for the neon colors and strong, fruity scents that make it seem kiddie. This is my new favorite lip balm because it not only moisturizes, but also heals and improves the LOOK of my lips. Nivea hit the nail on the head for me with these; light, sweet scents plus super moisturizing ingredients in “grown-up” packaging. My lips have never been softer. It has been an entire day since my last application and my lips are still soft and smooth. Normally by now, I would be in desperate need for another coat.

Pro Tip: To get the most out of your lip balm, hold a warm, damp cloth over your lips for a few seconds, then gently buff away dead skin with a clean toothbrush and apply a generous coat of your favorite lip balm.

Thanks for reading our lip balm recommendations and we hope we encouraged you try these if you haven’t already. If you have tried any other these lip balms, let others know how well it worked for you in the comments. If you have any other lip balms you want to recommend, you can tell us about those below as well. Peace & Love

Leave a Reply

