The Quick Fix Survival Hair Kit // Kinky-Curly Hair Care On-the-Go

20131206-164333.jpg

The Quick Fix Survival Hair Kit is an emergency pack for when you’re short on time, need a midday refresh, having a bad hair day, woke up late, partied too hard, got attacked by a wild flock of geese, caught the Holy Ghost a little too hard at church, or whatever other situation you may find yourself in that requires your hair to snap it together quick. The kit should contain only the bare essentials necessary to make your hair presentable and products should be small enough to fit into a basic toiletry bag. I mean, hey, they have hangover kits and emergency “overnight” kits, why not one for hair? Likely, somewhere between that last shot of vodka and the “Oh crap” moment of the morning after, your hair died and is now in need of resuscitation. Here’s a list of must-haves for your emergency first aid hair kit:

Travel/Sample Size Bottle of Conditioner

Hair looking dry in the middle of the day? Didn’t don your silk cap last night? Scrunch in some conditioner to give it life. There are times when I may fall asleep without wrapping my hair in a satin scarf. The next day, my hair is as dry as the Sahara. In the event that you are short on time and in need of a refresh, having a small bottle of conditioner on hand is a quick and easy way to replenish moisture. Travel size containers are available at most Walgreens and CVS stores, making it quick and easy to tote your favorite conditioner while on the move.

Pomade or Butter

It doubles as a sealant and a gel to retain moisture and help slick fly-aways for a more polished look. Repurposing a small product container, such as a pomade tin, is also a great way to make your shea or mango butter travel size.

Bobby Pins

I always keep a handful of bobby pins in my purse. You never know when you’ll need one. Having extra bobby pins handy has rescued me numerous times from my hair spazzing out at an inconvenient time or when I just want my hair out of my face and off my neck.

Elastic Bands or Other Hair Ties

I keep either a thin elastic headband or a black shoelace handy in case humidity ravages my hair or my twist-/braid-out rebels. With a hair tie, I can always pull my hair into a ponypuff or bun. Of the two, the shoelace is my favorite; I can achieve just the right amount of fullness in my ponypuff without the base of my hair poofing and frizzing, or falling out of the hair tie as it would with an elastic band. In short, I feel I have better control with a shoelace than an elastic hair tie.

Military Brush

A boar bristle, military style brush is small, convenient to carry, and excels at carrying oils from root to ends. Having this practical little tool within reach allows you to create neat and smooth styles while making the most of the little product you have on hand. Boar bristles make all the difference! Comparatively, boar bristles do a much better job of carrying oils from the scalp to the ends without being too abrasive on your hair, thereby helping to condition strands.

And for the… uh, “party girls” and traveling naturalistas…

Mini Spray Bottle

In a bind, a simple spritz of water goes a long way in replenishing and retaining moisture when away from your full arsenal. If you brought along your sample-size conditioner (or using the one provided by your hotel), a rudimentary spritz can be mixed as well. Travel-size spray bottles can also be acquired at the local Walgreens, Walmart, or CVS.

Satin Scarf and/or Plastic Shower Cap

Oh yes, we have you covered if you “got lucky” or you’re just traveling out of town. Don’t want to look unsexy? Need to retain moisture while out of town? Just wrap your satin scarf around the pillow before conking out so you won’t have to worry about the pillow sapping moisture from your strands. Forgot your scarf? It’s cool. Your emergency spritz and a plastic cap will help you do a quick deep treatment while showering.

One thought on “The Quick Fix Survival Hair Kit // Kinky-Curly Hair Care On-the-Go

Leave a Reply

