The Kinky-Curly Rebellion

20131026-105833.jpg

My hair seems to reject twists and braids after a few months. The twists-outs/braid-outs will be gorgeous for a while, but then one day I unravel them and my hair straight up stages a rebellion. Frizz runs rampant and, in certain areas, it doesn’t take to the twists/braids at all! You can imagine how frustrating that can be, having your hair randomly reject your selected setting method and forcing you to switch it up, especially when you had your heart set on a certain style for that day.

My hair has been doing this since my transitioning period. One week, bantu knot-outs were banging, next week, not so much. S/N: The only time I have ever gotten perfect bantu knot-outs was when i was transitioning. They’ve turned out horribly ever since the big chop. My hair would really take well to braids for a time and then they would start to look funky and frizzy and would respond better to twists. It didn’t matter what products I used because the results were always the same and a change-up was in order.

20131026-100315.jpg

There are no warning signs for when my hair is going to protest a set, it just up and does it one day. The looser, fine curls in the front/bang area take well to any set (which is funny because i remember when it was the most difficult area to set and had to be handled differently) and can be a misleading outlook for the rest of my head. The ringlets above my hears will frizz a little here and there, but the back, the back is the section that acts an ass and looks picked or blown out even after being in braids or twists for days. I just don’t understand it.

It wouldn’t be as big of an issue if braids and twists didn’t possess those varying attributes that create pros and cons for each style. Twists are quicker and easier to do, dry faster, don’t take a lot of time to take down, and if flat-twisting, there is no need to separate, but they are more susceptible to shrinkage and frizzing. Braids stretch hair more, are less prone to frizz, hold moisture better, and whether cornrowing or box braiding, little if any additional separating is necessary, but they take longer to dry and unravel and require a little more skill to put in. I actually prefer braids, but my hair insists on alternating. I haven’t even touched bantu knot-outs as a style for a few years now because my hair hates them, or finger/comb coils because the bang area of my hair refuses to hold them. I wish I knew why my hair spazzes out, but oh well, I love it anyway. Peace & Love

P.S. For the record, that goat’s afro is awesome.

Does your hair reject certain styles or have a problem area you have to handle differently? How do you deal with it?

One thought on “The Kinky-Curly Rebellion

Leave a Reply

