Featured Natural // Crystal

20130920-115336.jpg

What is your name, where are you from, and what is the natural hair scene there like?

Hello Everyone. My name is Crystal Perry. I was born and raised and currently living in Jackson, TN. Jackson is a small town between Memphis and Nashville. Surprisingly, Jackson is very much on top of the “natural” game. Unfortunately, we don’t have a lot of natural hair beauty shops, but we’re working on it. We have beauticians that can do braids and offer some kind of advice regarding natural hair, but the shops we have, I haven’t been to satisfied. Most people just go to Memphis.

Why did you decide to go natural and how?

I have extremely thick hair and it’s very hard to maintain in the summer months. As fast as I would put a perm in, I would sweat it out. When permed, my hair was beautiful, but it wouldn’t last. It was either too windy or too hot. …so, it was either all over my head from the wind or frizzy from the heat. I don’t have time for that!

Did you encounter any obstacles in your journey?

Of course! We all do during the transitional period. I didn’t want to cut my hair at first and decided to just grow my perm out. I just wore my hair in a ponytail. Well, I got tired of wearing the pony tail and trying to figure out what to do next. I went from ponytails, to wigs, to braids. Well, I’m a very “let’s get it done” kinda gal. I ain’t got time for that. So, I chopped it off.

What is your styling regimen?

Let me share my hair care regimen with you (in a nutshell) – lol! This is what I do and what works for me. I’m still learning and I’m sure there’s a lot that I’m not doing that I should.
I usually wash and condition my hair once every two weeks …or when I feel it’s needed. I use “Eden” Shampoo and conditioner or Olive Oil Shampoo and Conditioner. I’ve been satisfied with Eden but I love trying new products.

Daily: To keep it moisturized, I use Pink moisturizing lotion or Fantasia IC Olive Oil Sheen Spray(CarrotSheen). The oil sheen is enriched with vitamins, olive and proteins to repair, rebuild and renew dry, damaged hair instantly. It also helps with hair growth. I don’t use a comb unless absolutely necessary. I always use my hand to style and a pick if necessary.

What is a typical wash day like for you?

A wash day is very simple. When I wash and condition my hair, it styles itself and it literally dries in like 30 minutes (air dry). My hair gets extremely curly when I wash it and the style remains when it dries.

What things do you do for your hair that benefit it the most?

I keep it moisturized to prevent breakage. I rarely use combs. The goal is hair growth so you don’t want your hair damaged from dryness. If it’s dry, you definitely don’t need to comb it. Always moisturize first.

20130920-115330.jpg

20130920-115336.jpg

20130920-115342.jpg

20130920-115351.jpg

20130920-115403.jpg

One thought on “Featured Natural // Crystal

Leave a Reply

