I Want to Shave My Head!

20130827-082651.jpg

-Siiiiiiiiigghhhh- My nemesis returns. The incomplete split. Incomplete splits are a PLAGUE on my strands! I’ve searched and searched for the cause, but I can’t find reliable, consistent information. Some sources say it’s from using high heat frequently, but I don’t use heat. Other sources say they form in the same way other splits do, but incomplete splits mean your hair is more resistant to breakage, which sounds a bit more plausible. Then, there are sources that say incomplete splits are split ends that have grown back together, which sounds plenty dubious to me.

It doesn’t matter if I trim or not, whether I protective style or not, no matter how gently I handle my hair they seem to keep coming back. I make it worse for myself by not trimming them right away, or “gradually” trimming them. I had to cut about 1 1/2 inches this time. SMDH. This time, I went through my hair section by section, meticulously cutting off the damaged ends, trying not to think of how much I was cutting, or how much shorter my hair will be, or even whether it would be uneven when I was done. As I snipped, I mentally repeated the mantra, “I am not losing anything but tired, damaged ends. My hair will grow back.” Not gonna lie, though, I was pretty damn disappointed. Still am, but I cannot afford to be shy about cutting out damage anymore.

I followed up with a good co-wash and protein deep treatment with Greek yogurt and ACV. I moisturized with Suave Naturals Rainforest Fresh and sealed with a blend of coconut oil and sesame oil. So now the game plan is to finger detangle only for a while to see if that makes any difference, apply coconut oil and castor oil to my ends everyday, and maybe I need to deep condition more often than when I wash with clay, say, every two weeks instead of three or four and do a quick baggy every other week. I will have to stay on top of trimming, checking every two months. I’m also extending my protective styling challenge to six months. Perhaps it’s time to purchase some shea butter as well since the colder months are approaching.

I unequivocally HATE incomplete splits! They are THE biggest problem I have in retaining length. Actually, they are the ONLY problem. I don’t get regular split ends anymore and I barely get SSKs, just these extremely frustrating menaces. If I could just figure out what causes my hair to split that way. I mean, damn, is it an issue of nutrition? Is there something I’m not getting enough of in my diet?? They consistently occur within the last two inches of hair only. Every time I retain length past BSL, these splits pop up. They almost make me want to BC all over again (yes, I’m that fed up). I’m waging war on these splits. I can’t have this. Not again. …Now that I’ve fumed, It’s time hold my chin up and keep it moving. On the bright side, my ends do feel much better. If anyone has a solution to this problem, let me know before I shave my head. Ya girl gon come back lookin’ like Grace Jones, man. smhs Peace & Love

3 thoughts on “I Want to Shave My Head!

  1. I have the same problem its always been that way. I do protein treatments and keep my hair in protective styles which tends to help but I do not know were it comes from. ugh Let me know if you find something that helps.

    • Glad I’m not alone in the struggle haha! I’ve had to analyze my hair care routine again. I use shea butter to help maintain moisture, trim scraggly ends when I see them, DC often, protective styling, and try to optimize my growth rate by eating healthier and doing more cardio to get the blood flow pumping. So far, In the short time I’ve been doing this, I’ve grown back virtually all the length I had to cut.

      • I did a 360 overhaul of my hair care routine too. I trim more often but only about 4 times a year. Then before I do mini braids I do a dusting that’s partly because of these horrid things called angel knots. But my Go to Product…I’m talking if I could only have 1 thing to do my hair with for life…Is Care Free Curl Gold. Keeps my hair moist as ever and last a long time. I can’t tell you how much my hair has grown and it is the best to detangle my hair with too.

Leave a Reply

