Kitchen Chemistry // DIY Coconut Body Scrub (It’s Magical)

image

While casually poking around for info on coconut oil, I found out it can be used to clear acne, largely because of its antibacterial and anti-fungal properties. Tossing this thought around in my mind and cycling it in with its incredible ability to moisturize, I concocted this recipe for THE best acne fighting, exfoliating, and moisturizing body scrub EVER!! Even my husband noticed the difference in the softness and clarity of my skin. And it tastes delicious too! Like a coconut lemon creme pie. You couldn’t tell my skin from a newborn baby’s. I’ve used this scrub for three days in a row and I’ve seen and felt drastic improvements in my skin. Clearly, I need to start budgeting for the huge $20 jar of unrefined coconut oil in the monthly grocery bill (the extra $10 will come straight out of the money used for olive oil). I cook with it, I moisturize with it, I clear breakouts with it, I seal my hair with it, I use it in my smoothies; I use this oil in more ways than I ever used extra virgin olive oil. Boom bye, EVOO!! -punt- I know you’re like, “Alright, okay. What’s the recipe so I can try it too?” I got you! It’s just three simple ingredients:

Coconut Body Scrub Recipe

This recipe is meant for single use. If you feel you need more, adjust accordingly.

1/4 cup sugar
1 tbsp UNrefined coconut oil
Juice from half a lemon cut lengthwise

Stir these ingredients together until they are of a grainy paste-like consistency and apply in the shower over the entire body on clean skin in a circular scrubbing motion with hands. Let sit for 2 minutes. Rinse with warm water while massaging residual oil into skin. Towel dry. Enjoy baby soft, exfoliated skin. Repeat daily for normal to combination skin or twice a week for oily skin.

Just a heads up, if you have acne, the problem will get worse before it gets better because the oil penetrates the skin and gets into the pores to both moisturize and bring the dirt to the surface with every use. The coconut oil will also help kill off the bacteria that causes acne. Yay! The lemon juice also aids as a cleanser and will assist in fading acne scars over time. You can also do this with sea salt, but it wouldn’t taste as good, A, and B, sugar is gentler for those with sensitive skin like myself.

Since integrating this mélange into my skincare regimen, my skin is incredibly supple and not at all oily, there is a notable reduction in the size of my enlarged pores, the raised blackheads along the bridge of my nose as well as the blackheads on my cheeks around my nose are virtually nonexistent. The whiteheads at the crease of my chin are noticeably fewer by comparison. I’m not getting any breakouts on my back and chest anymore. I have experienced two big blemishes on my face since starting this, but nothing more. I impute the absence of a larger scale breakout to the fact that I have been using the green tea, lemon, and honey sugar scrub periodically prior to use of the coconut scrub. I found the green tea scrub a little drying if used too often, but I have no trouble using the coconut scrub everyday. It’s magical. I LOVE IT!! It has all the acne fighting power of my old Neutrogena Acne fighting body wash and then some without the drying harsh chemicals. I just love natural remedies. My is loving the results. He won’t stop rubbing my skin. He can’t help it. He actually said, “I don’t know what you’re doing, but keep doing it.” For him to take notice, I must be doing something right.

If you decide to try it out, let me know how well it performed for you. Peace & Love

Leave a Reply

