Protective Styling Challenge II Update // Two-Tone Chunky Yarn Twists

image

I stumbled across a video for these while looking for a tutorial on yarn wraps and thought they looked superhero cute and easy so I said why not? I’ve been thinking about doing this ever since I first tried genie locs. I did actually attempt the yarn wraps (another form of faux locs), but they were a little too stiff for my tastes. Maybe I wrapped too tightly or they are like yarn braids and need a little time to gain flexibility, but I didn’t like where it was going so I opted for the chunky twists instead. They are quick to install–provided you section out your yarn first–and easy to care for. I had some concerns about moisture reaching my hair in the yarn wraps, but once my hair is moisturized within the twists, they take nearly a day and a half to fully air dry (unless I take a ride with the windows down or sit in front of an AC), which puts my mind at ease.

I’ve had them in for exactly two weeks and I absolutely love them. My favorite thing about them is how many awesome styles I can do without having to use a bobby pin or elastic hair tie. I just tie the twists together and tuck for ponytails, buns, and some Elizabethan Era-inspired/Queen Amidala styles (don’t judge; the fact that you even know who she is makes you a nerd too).

I installed them on clean hair moisturized with my Elixir and sealed with what remained of the mango butter/gel mixture I experimented with a while back. I have previously noted how my hair retains moisture best with the use of a butter while in twists or braids and being that even acrylic yarn can cause friction on the strands, I wanted to make sure my hair is well moisturized and sealed to provide slip to both my hair and the yarn, reducing the chances of any friction causing breakage. I only moisturize as needed. Most of the time, the steam from the shower is enough to prolong periods between spritzing. Now the plan is to keep them in for a maximum of one more week, but I’m sure if it’s gonna go down like that. Regardless of when I remove them, I will be trying a hot oil treatment afterwards. Then, it’s either back into small twists or I’ll try out Cipriana from Urban Bush Babes’ loose twists, I suppose.

Tangent: I read a recent article/interview of a UK woman named Farida on Black Girl Long Hair’s website. She utilizes the interesting routine of rotating hair treatments. For example, she may deep condition with a regular deep conditioner one week, then the next week, she may do a hot oil treatment, then the next perhaps a steam treatment. I like this idea of rotation because, for me, it will help me to stretch out my supplies longer if I’m not using the same DT products every time I wash my hair. I have already begun incorporating it into my routine.

Anyway, here are some of the ways I’ve been styling my chunky yarn twists:

image

image

image

image
image

image

image
image

image
image

image
image

Also, I revisted an oldie, but “goodie.” Queen Helene Cholesterol Deep Treatment. Yes it’s packed with those completely demonized ingredients, but some of those ingredients, depending on what they are, are actually harmless within the right product and when used correctly. The cholesterol contains mineral oil. I would never use anything containing mineral oil on a regular basis because everyday use has blocked moisture out of my hair in the past. Instead, as a deep conditioning treatment, it works much the same way as any other oil used for deep treatment purposes. The product also contains sulfates. I struggled with this because on the one hand, I wanted to try something different and I still had this lying around from when I decided to start the CG Method and on the other hand, I know the effects of sulfates on my strands. However, the mineral oil within the product helps to reduce the likelihood of sulfates drying out my hair. I love this product and I was sorry to have to put it to the side back then, but since I no longer follow the CG Method to the T and instead follow a modified CG-based regime, as well as use a hair wash that is used to detox the hair of such ingredients, I don’t see a problem with using this once a month. Cholesterol deep conditioners have always worked wonderfully in my hair so I think I will add this to my DT rotation, along with hot oil treatments, and my Elixir.

I gotta say… I am just itching to take out these yarn twists. I missed my own hair after the first week. They are a bit heavy, and to be honest, I’ve experienced a little neck pain after wetting them and putting them into a bun. They also make working out a little difficult with the extra weight my neck has to support. That said, I may just take them out Saturday… hell… might do it today. It’s like another 5lbs added to my head lol! -sigh- They were pretty fun, though. Peace & Love

Leave a Reply

