The Protective Styling Challenge Begins Again!!!

20130710-212745.jpg

It’s that time again! As you already know, my goal is length retention through healthy hair care and currently my hair is just touching MBL. I expect it will be a solid MBL by my 4 year natural anniversary in early October. My ultimate length goal is hip length (HL) and the easiest way for me to reach that goal is prolonged periods of protective styling. Now is a great time for me to do it since I have perfected my Elixir leave-in conditioner & detangling spritz recipe, the use of which has exponentially increased the shine, softness, and manageability of my hair as well as improved moisture retention. I’ve gotten myself psyched up about this challenge and I feel more prepared for this one than the last challenge. It’s all cool if it’s for the greater good of overall healthy hair!

I have dusted my ends to rid my hair of SSK’s and splits in order to start the challenge with my hair in as healthy a state as possible. If you are doing the challenge along with me, I suggest you do the same. If you are unfamiliar with dusting, it is the act of trimming in which you cut between 1/8 – 1/4 in. The general rule of thumb is that when you cut the trimmings should look like little pieces of dust. For most people who dust their ends, it’s just cutting the thinnest, most shabbiest pieces of hair that don’t properly curl up with the rest of the hair and stick out even when well moisturized.

This challenge will start today and end the day before my natural anniversary on October 5, 2013. If you recall, the last challenge was for 90 days, but this one falls a bit short because I like wearing my hair out on my natural anniversary and because I’m a little late posting this. My styles will all be true protective styles, meaning my ends will be tucked away with every hairdo. I will keep my styles in for at least three weeks before changing up. Prolonged protective styling can be difficult if you enjoy playing your hair like I do so my strategy for completing this challenge is utilizing styles I would normally keep in for a few weeks at a time anyway, such as buns, twists, braids, or some combination of those three. I’m currently stretching my hair, attempting to achieve the look of a blow-out without using heat. This will be my first time doing styles on completely stretched hair and I’m excited to do so. I haven’t done a blow-out in since I was one year natural. I can only imagine what it looks like now.

If you are going to be doing the challenge along with me, please let me know in the comments. It’s not too late to jump in. I could certainly use the support because it is hard trying to keep myself from taking my hair down and playing in it. Peace & Love

Leave a Reply

