Kitchen Chemistry // Honey Hair & Skin Care + Refined Coconut Oil Update

20130708-225630.jpg

I tried the refined coconut oil on my hair. Instantly in love. Once again, An old product that didn’t quite live up to the expectations in the past is now being sinceriously considered as a staple. I even added some to my Elixir along with castor oil. Of course, I don’t want to make regular use of it because I don’t want to overdo it with the proteins so I’ve limited my use of it to “as needed.” In conjunction with my Elixir, it made my hair supple, the curls were springy, there was noticeable frizz reduction, and I dare say my hair felt strengthened. I suspected my curls weren’t as bouncy and healthy looking as they usually are, but I wasn’t really certain if it was the change products I’ve been using lately or something I’m doing wrong. Turns out, I just needed a little protein. Go figure.

Honey for Moisture

One night, when I couldn’t find anything less harsh than our regular bar of soap to wash my face with, I grabbed one of those sample-sized bottles of shampoo we got from a hotel we stayed in a while back. It’s infused with green tea extract so I figured it would be soothing to both my skin and temperament. Indeed it was. The smell of the green tea extract had a calming effect and my skin felt clean without being dry. From there, I just had to have that smell in all my skin care products. I went searching for homemade face washes and scrubs containing green tea so that I could keep that soothing scent with me long after the mini shampoo ran out. I found one great recipe in particular that stood out simply because it reminded me of the honey, olive oil, and sugar scrub I used to use. Unfortunately, most store-bought green tea does not have that wonderful scent, but nevertheless I used a fairly good quality green tea to recreate the recipe I found.

In addition to green tea and sugar, the recipe called for one extra ingredient of the preparer’s choosing; either lemon juice for cleansing, honey for moisture, or plain yogurt for soothing. Since I have a HUGE jar of 100% pure unfiltered honey in the cupboard and mounds of lemons in the fridge, I opted to use both honey and lemon. Honey does such a great job of pulling dirt out of the pores and replacing moisture and softening the skin that I began to wonder about its use in hair care. Previously, I shied away from using it in my hair, fearing it would make it sticky and that I would pull my hair out trying to remove it, much like gum. This time, I poked around the web looking for recipes and learning about what honey can do for hair. Allow me to share the highlights of what I learned.

  • Because of its antimicrobial, antibacterial, and anti-fungal properties, honey is actually a great clarifier and can function as a natural preservative.

  • Honey is a humectant, meaning it pulls moisture from the air, and it never dries out, which gives it conditioning and softening properties, much like glycerin. It’s excellent for use on dry and/or damaged hair.

  • It’s completely natural–especially if you use raw honey–so it’s chemical-free, color safe, and CG friendly.

  • It can smooth the hair cuticles, effectively sealing in moisture, increasing shine, and exponentially reducing frizz.

  • Honey can be easily rinsed out as long as there are equal parts oil to honey and rinsed with warm water. No sticky hair.

  • The high amounts of sugars (fructose, glucose, sucrose) in honey give it an indefinite shelf life so you don’t have to worry about mildew as long as it is stored properly in a room temperature, dry place.

  • Honey has also been used as a natural remedy for hair loss and thinning.

  • It can also help prevent dandruff.

  • This may be a deal breaker for some, but the natural trace amounts of hydrogen peroxide within honey, similar to the effect of lemon juice, can lighten hair over time.



  • Tips & Recipes for Honey Hair & Skin Care

    Add a couple teaspoons of honey and olive oil to your conditioner for added moisture, softness, and shine.

    Moisturizing Protein Treatment: 2 tbs honey, 3 tbs olive oil, 1 tbs of plain Greek yogurt. Blend all ingredients together, apply to clean, damp hair with an applicator brush or hands. Let sit under a plastic cap/bag with or without the aid of a hooded dryer for 15 – 20 minutes. Rinse and style as usual.

    Hair Lightening Treatment: Mix distilled water with honey to a consistency thick enough to be applied to the hair. Apply and let it sit up to an hour before rinsing. Wash hair with a mild shampoo, condition, and style as normal. For a boost to the lightening power, add a teaspoon of lemon juice.

    Reverse Hair Thinning: Mix equal parts honey, olive oil, and cinnamon and apply to the thinning areas 2 – 3 times a week.

    Honey Pre-Poo: Mix equal parts honey and olive oil and apply and let sit in hair for 20 – 30 minutes before shampooing.

    Honey Facial Scrub: Mix 1 tbs sugar with 1 tsp honey and 1tsp olive oil. Wash face and apply, scrubbing gently in a circular motion with pads of fingers then rinse. An alternate recipe for this scrub is to use 2 tbs sugar, 1 tsp honey, 1 tsp lemon juice (optional for lightening and cleansing), and lukewarm green tea mixed into a sugary paste.

    Moisturizing Blackhead Removal Mask: Mix a teaspoon of lemon juice (optional) with 1 tbs honey and apply to blackheads on a clean face. Let sit for 10 minutes then rinse thoroughly. This is best done right before bed.



    The fact that I’ve always been so pleased with the use of honey on my skin coupled with my newfound knowledge of its use in hair care brought me to add 1 1/2 teaspoons to my new Elixir recipe yesterday and I. Freaking. LOVE IT!! My frizz is virtually nonexistent, there was RIDICULOUS slippage as I applied and finger detangled, my hair is hella shiny, my S-curls are popping, my hair is velvety to the touch, and my curls seem to hold better. I am sinceriously upset with myself for not trying it sooner! I really didn’t think it was possible to improve upon the moisturizing perfection that is my Elixir recipe, but lo. This might eliminate my need for gel altogether!

    My hair is in a protective style and I only spritzed the front sections of this style that required re-twisting with this new miracle-working Elixir recipe. In the pictures, you can sort of see the contrast between the sections spritzed and the sections not spritzed (note: the bun is the result of an old twist-out). While taking the pictures below, I noticed that those sections of hair sprayed with the new honey Elixir are amazingly extra manageable now (my looser front curls are always pretty easy to work with, but now?? Pshhh! Can’t tell me nothin’).

    20130709-135536.jpg

    20130709-135653.jpg

    20130709-135716.jpg

    I can’t wait for my next wash day so I can try it over my entire head of hair. I suggest you all try mixing honey in your favorite leave-in with a little carrier oil and let me know how you liked it. I look forward to it. Peace & Love

    Leave a Reply

