Rhassoul vs. Bentonite: Is There a Difference?

Rhassoul and Bentonite

So you’ve more than likely read a post or two where I mentioned my fav hair wash, Terressentials Organic Pure Earth Hair Wash and my personal recipe meant to copy and improve said hair wash. You may also have wondered, “What the hell is it, anyway?” As I stated in a previous blog post, Terressentials is made up of bentonite and rhassoul clay. Both are used to remove heavy duty dirt particles from the hair and scalp. From my own research, I discovered there hasn’t been much research on how these two natural resources interact with the hair and skin aside from their general use. However, I did find out about the science behind the cleansing properties they possess. The particles of the clay are able to ADsorb small dirt particles and hold on to them, allowing them to be washed away with a good rinse. The clays are also able to detoxify hair of heavy metals, such as lead.

Rhassoul

Rhassoul

Now, from personal experience? IS there a difference? No, I haven’t noticed any difference between the two at all whatsoever. When mixed solely with water both left my hair feeling a little drier than what I was used to with Terressentials, which is what prompted me to add more conditioning ingredients to my recipe. After adding a plethora of extra ingredients, including aloe vera juice, cinnamon, cloves, lemon juice, etc etc, the mixture improved as far as leaving my hair feeling more conditioned, but it didn’t really need all of those things. Aloe vera juice, your favorite conditioner, glycerin, or rose water are all great ingredients to add to your clay wash mixture for conditioning purposes. All-in-all, you could pick either clay, make your own mix or borrow from other recipes and still get the same great results.
Bentonite

Bentonite

Some have stated they found bentonite loosens their curl pattern. I haven’t had that experience. Some have informed me that it somehow expands the hair shaft or the cells within, causing the hair to swell thereby making the hair’s curl pattern appear elongated. Is this true? I haven’t tracked down any info that would support such a claim so I wouldn’t hold it as fact.

Bentonite Clay Mask

Bentonite Clay Mask

Hair aside, both make for superhero awesome facial masks. If you have oily skin, acne, or enlarged pores TRY this stuff! My skin tends to dry out, especially in colder months so I use them sparingly because they are so potent in their cleansing they can strip the natural oils from your skin. If you decide to try the facial mask out, be sure to follow up with a light noncomedogenic (doesn’t clog pores) moisturizer. You definitely won’t be disappointed. Peace & Love

Leave a Reply

