Goin’ Hard in the Paint @ Newby’s

I wanted to share this pic (sorry, it’s the best one we had) of my husband and I at a local paint party with Lindsey, her fiancé, and my bro Duran. John looks like he’s worn out in this picture haha! I pulled an old hairstyle out my repertoire, mostly because it’s cute and relatively quick when I don’t want to spend a lot of time styling. I did this style with a bun in the back for a few days before and chose to let the bun loose for the party. Man was there a lot of PAINT!! I was so happy to be natural because I didn’t care whether my hair got wet or not. I only saw three relaxed chicks there and two had hats on, but I also didn’t see ANY naturals aside from Lindsey and myself. I usually see quite a few naturals when I’m out and about so it stood out to me. It made me feel wonderful knowing that I don’t have to worry about getting my hair wet all the time. It was only going to get curlier, plus I had it in an updo styled from a few-day-old twist-n-blow so it really didn’t matter. Lindsey also wore an old wash-n-go, but I don’t have the group pic showing it. By the end if the night, we were all soaked in paint, sweaty, exhausted, and ready to jump in the shower. That shirt I’m wearing was white when I went in. lol Before bed, too tired to do a full on wash, I rinsed my hair, which was soaked through with blue and green paint, thoroughly. The water was blue-black for several minutes before I finally got it all out. I’ll say this about all the paint in my hair, it made my curls super defined before rinsing it. All-in-all, it was a great night and I wanted to share my devil-may-care attitude about my hair in such situations. Some naturals still run from water (or paint haha) when their hair is stretched, or in a twist- or braid-out and I don’t blame them, but I say, “Screw it, let’s have fun!” Peace & Love

20130309-104450.jpg

Leave a Reply

