Featured Natural // Latasha

20130209-113012.jpg

What is your name, where are you from, and what is the natural hair scene there like?

My name is Latasha Montford, I reside in Norcross, GA. In the last few years the Atlanta area has become quite the scene for naturals. They seem to be EVERYWHERE.

Why did you decide to go natural and how?

I liked locs but originally stopped relaxing bc I of damage from a previous dye job. I continued to get my hair pressed for about 6 months then went back to the relaxer. After reading about the benefits of natural hair I decided to go “totally natural” and in February 2011 I stopped relaxing and rocked braids for about 6 months when I BC’d in Aug 2011.

Did you encounter any obstacles in your journey?

The only obstacle I really encountered was dealing with the two textures while transitioning. Thus, the braids and the early bc. 😉

How would you describe your hair texture?

My hair texture is most 3c, 4a from what I can tell. It’s more loose & wavy in the front with tight corkscrew spirals in the crown.

20130209-113030.jpg

What is your styling regimen?

I am mostly a puff and twist out girl. I work in a hospital and have very early hours so I don’t want to make extra time for my hair. I usually rock twist for a few days, then a twist out & last I turn it into a puff. Next it’s wash day!

What is a typical wash day like for you?

I wash with Shea Moisture’s Coconut & Hibiscus Shampoo about once a month. I try to cowash weekly and DC every 2-3wks. At my current length I section my hair into fours, wash & detangle in the shower, retwisting each section as I go. I’m currently detangling using Tresseme Naturals Moisturizing Conditioner. It has great slip and my hair LOVES! Afterwards, my leave in of choice is Giovanni Smooth as Silk.

20130209-113047.jpg

What things do you do for your hair that benefit it the most?

The thing that benefits me the most is MOISTURIZING! Without it my hair has no life. It breaks, it sheds, it doesn’t cooperate non whatsoever. I oil my scalp after every wash and use cream based moisturizer and/or my own Shea Butter mix and set in twist to lock it in.

What are some things/practices you steer clear of when it comes to your hair?

I try to stay clear of manipulating my hair when dry and combing too often. I also try to avoid sleep while my hair is loose. I only end up with a tangled mess

20130209-113120.jpg

20130209-113108.jpg

20130209-113058.jpg

20130209-113040.jpg

20130209-113036.jpg

Leave a Reply

