Speakerbox // R.I.C.O. (Ridiculously Independent, Completely Overconfident)

20130211-104123.jpg

****WARNING! Some songs contain mature lyrics. Nah don’t say I didn’t tell yuh. lol****

This one is my personal favorite:
The Hangover ft. P Will

If you wanted people to take one, and only one, message from your music, what would it be?

I’d like to think that my message is simply, “Don’t set limitations for yourself.”

Do you have any major musical influences that inspire you?

Like any hip hop artist, all of my elders in the game are very influential to me. I kinda grew up on a lot of west coast stuff (NWA, Snoop Dogg, E40, Mac Dre, etc) but of course being in Atlanta I was also around the sounds of folks like Outkast and the whole ATTIC crew, Pastor Troy. But I also grew up on a lot of grunge rock. Thanks to my Uncle Sowande I got to listen to things like Nirvana, Soundgarden and eventually the group that literally changed my life and made me want to pursue music as a career, Rage Against The Machine. And if I went any further with influences, you’d have to write a book (Prince, Jimi Hendrix, most recently Eric Gales, Little Richard, and R. Kelly just to name a few).

20130211-104128.jpg

Another favorite of mine:
Start the Show Free

What elements of you and your music make you stand apart from other artists?

I think (I don’t know) that my upfront honesty sets me apart lyrically. I do my best not to talk about anything I haven’t personally experienced. I think that when you talk truly about what you’ve done and where you’ve been, no matter how you say it its gonna come across true to somebody. A lot of people are quick to call someone a “fake-ass nigga” or to call somebody out for frontin, but when the “real niggas” show up to the party, people are scared of em. Perfect example, I think the realest nigga in the game right now is Frank Ocean. Musically, he’s a beast, and personally, this man is upfront with everything, even his personal life. That was a big leap to tell the world he’s bi-sexual AND THEN SING ABOUT A DUDE ON THE ALBUM!!!!! But anyway, like I was saying, if you come with the real, it’s gonna show. On stage, in the studio, and through the speakers.

20130211-104523.jpg

What projects are you currently working on?

I’m currently workin on a collabo-tape with the homie PK Fyre, who appears on my latest E.P. Cheese and Crackers. I’m also working on a lot of stuff for the Fall and a LOT of collaborations with fellow Memphop artists. Its gonna be a a wild year, please believe that.

Where can we download/purchase more of your music?

I’m on soundcloud, datpiff, reverbnation and sooner than later all your other favorite sites. Just look up the words “Memphop” and “Cheese and Crackers” on any search engine, I’m sure I’ll show up (laughs).

Na$tEe ft. PK Fyre

Gatdamn

20130211-104134.jpg

20130211-104533.jpg

Leave a Reply

