Kitchen Chemistry // The Wonders in Your Pantry: Oatmeal and Yogurt

oatmeal yogurt

Now how do these two even make a power combo Tai? I’m actually a little late with this one, my little one has been having a rough week. He’s a trooper though, so I wasn’t too worried. However it did make me change my entry! Originally I was going to do yogurt and almonds, but oatmeal seems like a better choice. There are ten great reasons why oatmeal is a super food. I’ll list them and send you on your way with my reference link. You’ll love what you’ll find.

  1. It lowers your Cholesterol
  2. It can reduce your risk of developing high blood pressure
  3. It’s full of antioxidants
  4. Prevents the arteries from Hardening
  5. It can aid in the prevention of breast cancer development
  6. Oatmeal stabilizes blood sugar
  7. Aids in the prevention of Diabetes
  8. Boosts the immune system
  9. It helps with weight loss! (if you need a heartier meal to help with your eating habits)
  10. Oatmeal soothes diaper rashes (and other rashes), insect bites and detoxifies the skin! This came as a great help to me this week (part of why I’ve been incognito) – mini me was having a rough few days. The oatmeal cleared up what Desitin couldn’t finish as fast. It also was a nice little R&R moment for him every time he had the Aveeno oatmeal soak.

It’s actually fine for those who can’t eat gluten

http://www.symptomfind.com/nutrition-supplements/health-benefits-of-oatmeal/

In the meantime here is a straight from your kitchen DIY facial mask and hair mask.

Yogurt Hair Mask

  • 1c of plain yogurt (use Greek yogurt if you need a thicker paste with more protein)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 egg (optional)
  • 1 tbsp honey

Whisk them together according to hair needs. If you need to up the amount of any of the ingredients, do so. Typically I use a little castor oil as well or I just replace the olive oil completely with it. I’ve had friends add lavender or other oils to make it a spa experience. Or other essential oils like tea tree or peppermint for an itchy scalp. Leave your application on for at least an hour – do NOT apply heat. You do not want to cook any of this into your hair; especially not the eggs! Be sure to use a cap or plastic bag.
I don’t always add eggs, but if I have had a rough month on my second go round it I’ll add it. I’ll use this upward of twice a month due to my last color job ๐Ÿ™‚ which was also at home!
When you rinse use lukewarm to cool water to remove the mask. Co-wash if needed. I always do to ensure that the mixture is out. You don’t want to strip the hair, just ensure that its clean. Remember this is heavy on protein, so if your are worried about the hair becoming too hard, leave it on for a shorter period of time, then follow-up with a dc after you rinse and wash.

Facial Mask

Here is where the fun begins. You’ll need whole grain oatmeal for this one.

  • 1c plain yogurt
  • 1c whole grain oatmeal
  • 1 lemon – or some lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp olive oil/ and one tsp of olive oil for afterwards

Add water to your oatmeal. It needs enough for the oats to be full but not super soggy. Once the oatmeal is soaked mix it with the yogurt and olive (tbsp) and let it sit. While the mixture is settling down – no longer than five minutes – use the lemon juice as an astringent / toner to remove all the oils and toxins from your face. Rinse your face with lukewarm water to open the pores and then apply the oatmeal yogurt combo. Typically I sit there with it on my face for at least 20 minutes. After the elapsed time, wipe the majority of the mask off and then rinse with cold water to close your pores. I always follow-up with a tsp of EVOO to rub into my skin and I pat off the excess. ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy!

I’d love to hear how this worked out for all of you, and also any improvements or changes you may have made!

One thought on “Kitchen Chemistry // The Wonders in Your Pantry: Oatmeal and Yogurt

  1. Pingback: Natural Foot Care RecIpes | Nursing Care Plans for Natural Care

Leave a Reply

