Featured Natural // Nia-Dera

20130131-115159.jpg

My name is Nia-Dera and I’m from Union, NJ. My reason for going natural was for a new beginning. This is actually my 2nd time, but this time it’s here to stay! I big chopped both times and my journey has been going pretty well though I don’t really style my hair much, but I do enjoy seeing my growth. The most I do as for styling is pinning the sides or a wrap. lol Smh, considering that I am a cosmetologist! My hair has very tight coils so I do my twist outs on dry hair. I do blow dry my hair, because of my shrinkage, using low heat and a heat protectant . I try to steer away from excessive heat and combing. I only use a wide tooth comb on the day I wash 🙂

I shampoo 1x every other week, cowash in between when my curls look bad (too puffy and dry). I’m using Avalon Organics Nourishing Lavender Shampoo and Conditioner along with Shea Moisture Deep Treatment Masque. When I twist-out I use Shea Moisture Curl Moisture Smoothie and seal with Tropic Isle Living Lavender Jamaican Black Castor Oil. I normally use product on my hair every other night; when I twist my hair at night and I wear a silk bonnet.

20130131-211445.jpg
20130131-120258.jpg
20130131-120310.jpg
20130131-211501.jpg
20130131-120318.jpg
2 thoughts on “Featured Natural // Nia-Dera

  1. You better work…… cash money moves all around you dollar dollar dollar bill yall !!!!! I only wish that you can train my hair to do that. that’s beautiful….. KIM

  2. Hey hey JCBO! Yeah I’m still using regular Castor Oil. I’ll be doing a big order of things I need at the end of the month and that is DEFINITELY on the list.

Leave a Reply

