Featured Natural // Kelisha

20130131-122216.jpg

What is your name, where are you from, and what is the natural hair scene there like?

My name is Kelisha D. Brooks. I was born and currently reside in Plainfield, NJ.
Natural hair is so common here in NJ. Maybe it has to do with living so close to NYC. I work in Corporate America and there are several African American women who wear natural styles (twist outs, dreads & even brush cuts).

Why did you decide to go natural and how?

I always wore my hair cut short and tapered, which resulted in me relaxing my hair way too often. My edges were thinning, weak and my hair just didn’t feel thick and healthy like it was when I was younger. Since my hair was already short, getting the BC wasn’t a big deal once I made up my mind to stop relaxing. I have been natural for 2 1/2 years.

Did you encounter any obstacles in your journey?

Actually, my journey has been very pleasant. In the beginning, I was definitely a PJ trying to figure out what worked best for my hair type. I was also addicted to YouTube. I believe the biggest challenge has been changing my regimen as my hair grows. In the beginning I did wash and go’s exclusively (diffused in the winter), now my go to style is a two-strand twist out.

How would you describe your hair texture?

Hair typing always confuses me, but based on what I’ve seen on YouTube I believe I have 4a type hair. It varies though, the front of my hair is much coarser then the nape.

What is your styling regimen?

I have a very dry scalp so Neutrogena T-Gel is the only product that works on my scalp. I DC every 2 weeks using Aussie 3 minute deep conditioner. I usually set my twist with Kinky Curly Knot Today or Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie. I very rarely blow out my hair, and only do it when I’m looking for some added length or a different look (even when its blown out, I set it with twists). I have yet to flat iron my hair, while natural. I re-twist my hair nightly and sleep with a satin bonnet. I moisturize my hair daily before taking out my twists with Organic Coconut Oil.

20130131-122152.jpg

What is a typical wash day like for you?

Initially I would wash my hair weekly. Now since my dry scalp has improved, I wash it every two weeks. I wash very early on Sunday mornings to ensure that its dry on Monday. If I’m not doing anything I will even wash it Friday or Saturday night. I am a very impatient person, so once I start I keep going until I am completely done (no sitting around for hours deep conditioning). I can do my hair from start to finish in an hour (including a 15 minute DC).

What things do you do for your hair that benefit it the most?

I believe the Coconut Oil has worked wonders for my hair, along with minimal use of heat.

What are some things/practices you steer clear of when it comes to your hair?

I very rarely try new products on my hair. If I find something I like, I stick with it and use it until it runs out.

Do you have a website/blog/vlog where we can locate you?

I own a company that specializes in custom tees/tanks for naturals. The line is called Fun & Funky Naturally Beautiful.

Check out my website at:
www.ffnb-koolwill.com or email me at ffnb.koolwill@gmail.com

20130131-122107.jpg

20130131-122203.jpg

20130131-122140.jpg

4 thoughts on “Featured Natural // Kelisha

Leave a Reply

