Product Showdown // Flaxseed Gel vs. Eco Styler

20130106-133346.jpg

I do believe this is the first time I’ve done any type of product review on 2KL, but let’s get down to business!

Contender #1: Flaxseed Gel

Flaxseed is derived from the flax plant, and is believed to provide numerous benefits to your hair, though there is a lack of solid evidence of such. One reason it is believed to promote healthy hair is because it contains omega-3 fatty acids, which supports scalp health. A deficiency in omega-3s can cause dull, brittle hair and dry scalp. Flaxseeds also contain lignans within the shell; lignans are disease-fighting compounds that may help fight hair loss.

Pros

– Great medium hold, but doesn’t leave hair crunchy.
– Organic
– Homemade (add ingredients of your choosing)
– Water soluble
– One small bag makes several batches
– Rarely flakes
– Relatively cheap
– A little goes a long way with usage
– Alcohol-free
– “Bad” ingredient-free
– Gentle enough to use every other day

Cons

– Can be difficult to determine when the consistency is right
– Can be messy and difficult to strain
– Has an unpleasant plant matter smell after a while
– Flakes when left in for a prolonged period (over a week)
– May wear off after a couple of days
– Must be refrigerated

Tori’s Commentary:

I’ve used flaxseed gel quite a few times before I managed to work out a recipe and consistency I like, using organic green tea in place of water. Once I established that, it never let me down. When I use it my hair feels generally soft, but has the slight crisp gel normally causes. It is excellent for twist- and braid-outs. There is generally no flaking when well distributed, but I found that when I was preserving a twist-out, after about a week, it did flake and made it appear as though I had a bad case of dandruff. It can be remedied by wetting the hands and smoothing the hair or wetting the hair directly to reactivate. No biggie. By using green tea, I gave it some added benefits of antioxidants and inadvertently created a scent of honey and milk. A small bag from Whole Foods is about $7 – 9 and you can get several batches from it. Contrary to popular belief, I have yet to be able to turn a good batch using previously used seeds alone.

Contender #2: Eco Styler Gel

Ingredients: water, carbomer, hydrolyzed wheat protein, PVP, glycerin, Triethanolamine, Sodium hydrxylmethylglycinate, Polysorbate 20, Tetrasodium EDTA, fragrance, “love and pride”

Price: Small jar, about $3 at the convenience store. Large jar, between $5 and $6 at the BSS.

Pros

– Has a strong, long-lasting hold
– More convenient than making your own gel
– Has a light scent, barely noticeable
– Water soluble
– Rarely flakes
– Relatively cheap
– A little goes a long way
– Alcohol-free
– No silicones, parabens, etc
– Has formulas with Moroccan argan oil, olive oil, or protein in addition to the regular formula

Cons

– Not organic
– Is visible if not well distributed

Tori’s Commentary

I love this stuff too. However, like I said, a little goes a long way so if you aren’t careful and use too much it can make your hair crunchy. The strong hold is ideal for styles and sets that you plan on keeping in for a long period of time. Just like with the flaxseed gel, a spritz is needed to reactivate to keep it from flaking after a while. It has virtually no scent, in my opinion, just a light scent that I can’t identify, but it doesn’t linger. I can only smell it in the jar. It isn’t organic, but if you don’t mind, then it doesn’t matter. I have used both the regular formula and the one containing olive oil, but not the other two. I found the olive oil Eco Styler has more conditioning properties than the original.

So which is the better gel?

BAM!
POW!
WHAM!!
SLAM!!

And the winner is…

A TIE!!

I’m so sincerious. In my opinion, they are equally bad-ass gels. I still use both. The only real difference is the ingredients and the strength of the hold. The stronger the hold, the longer it lasts so it just depends on how much hold you need. If you need your hair LAID to the gods or a highly defined twist- or braid-out, go with Eco Styler. If you need to tidy up fly-aways and get a smoother, more polished textured look or give a boost to curl definition that’s still fairly soft to the touch, flaxseed.

I recommend Eco Styler for my protective stylers who keep their hair in one style for over a week and flaxseed for those who like to switch [hairstyles] up every few days. I’m not always in the mood to cook and clean up behind a flaxseed gel recipe so Eco Styler is superhero convenient and has a much longer shelf life than flaxseed gel. Until next time… Peace peace.

Which gel would you choose?

3 thoughts on “Product Showdown // Flaxseed Gel vs. Eco Styler

    • That may be true for your hair and your experience. However, this comparison and review is based on my experiences with these products over time. Thanks for your input!

  1. I use eco styler gel and love it!! I wear protective styles mostly, so my huge jar lasts me a long time! I will have to try the flaxseed gel, great post!

Leave a Reply

