Day 73 of 90// Christmas!!// Modifying the Curly Girl Method

Christmas is just up the street (hehe) and we are ready for good times, good food, and family. My aunt came in from London today, which is going to make for a hilariously dysfunctional family gathering. It’s going to be fantabulorious (yes, I did make up a word. so what). I feel like I have to say, I’m disappointed that I have to have an updo in for New Year’s Eve. I really wanted to do a huge, stretched braid-out fro. 😦 Maybe I should wear my hair up all day, then when it’s time to party wear it down and call it a technicality?

I didn’t do any special hairstyles since my wash day. Just grabbed sections of twists, rolled them into “pin curls” and pinned them up; I’ve been wearing wraps and beanies.

20121220-161342.jpg

However, given the fact that I’ll more than likely adhere to my 90-day updo rule–like a punk–I’m trying to figure out a pin up girl look for Christmas and possibly NYE. Ok, so here’s my vision [for Christmas]! I have a true red waist-high pencil skirt with halter straps along with a white blouse with satin trim and strapped black heels. Think sexy librarian. OK so, I want to do that with this hairstyle, but with the back rolled vertically into the front.

20121220-161248.jpg

I’m still trying to figure out how to do it. I asked this YTer to do a tutorial, but she may not have seen my message. It’s going to be the business… should I ever figure it out. I’m definitely doing a video when I do! I’m also going to henna my hair in two different colors, one on the bottom and the other on the top. Hopefully, it will be at least somewhat visible.

I would also like to mention that I have had to modify the curly girl method entirely. I’m not even sure I can say I’m following it anymore, aside from selecting products on the approved list and not using sulfates. While I do love my Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo, before I finish this bottle I want to do a comparison with my V05 clarifying conditioner. I still feel some type of way about using only conditioner to wash my hair so I want to compare and see which cleans my scalp better. Secretly, I’m hoping it’s the V05 (c’mon, it’s like a dollar). I’ll still be using my bentonite clay primarily, but the SM has been my backup when I don’t want to spend all day doing my hair.

I went back to using castor oil on my hair. I couldn’t continue to deny my hair the one thing that it just LOVES! My low porosity hair would do pretty damn well with jojoba oil and better with mango butter (especially for twist- and braid-outs), coconut oil is good for DTs, but none of them work quite as well as castor oil. A little goes a long way with this stuff; I bought a 32 oz bottle over a year ago and I’m only halfway through, plus it’s available at Whole Foods. Jojoba oil runs out after about 3 – 4 weeks, for me, and mango butter has to be shipped in the mail and doesn’t react well with my ACV rinses (as you may have seen). I finally gave in on my last wash day and my hair is much happier.

Moral of the story is: if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. I took a lot of good things from the CG Method, but I can’t be restricted to the approved product list where certain products are concerned. I’ll happily skip the sulfates and other counterproductive ingredients, but nothing more shall come between my hair and its castor oil. lol

Just in case I’m not back beforehand, MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Stay safe, everyone.

Leave a Reply

