Day 57 of 90 | Wash Day// 90 Days of Updos, Day 54 [VIDEO]

Okay so I uploaded this on YT several days ago, but I still thought I’d share it here too. It was Day 52 of my 90 Days of Updos Challenge I assigned myself. I’m now entering the home stretch (12/30/2012 is my final day) and I want to give a little insight as to how I’m feeling and also document any noticeable changes/improvements in my hair. First, I am SUPERHERO excited because, for one, I didn’t think I would make it this far without wearing my hair down; and two, because I will finally be able to wear my hair out again. Aside from that, though, I must admit that protective styles have grown on me. If not for the simplicity it adds to my hair care routine, then certainly for the the knowledge I’ve gained along the way.

During this challenge, I have discovered:

  • My hair has a low porosity, is dense, and my strands are of medium size
  • The hair in the back tangles way more and is also denser–and possibly thicker–than the rest
  • My hair loves heavier oils and moisturizers and consequently doesn’t need a deep treatment every week
  • My scalp outright refuses to go 3 weeks without a decent wash under penalty of oily dandruff, build-up, and maaad itching
  • My hair apparently broke it off with Twists and is currently hooking up with Braids on a regular basis, meanwhile, my ends are lobbying for more buns, my edges inherently oppose.
  • I dare say, I just might continue protective styling as a regular part of my routine. Partly because I now see the LIGHT!! lol Protective styling allows one to be both be proactive in growing healthy hair while also allowing one to be a little lazy! Don’t misunderstand me, when I say “lazy” I mean I no longer have to dedicate so much time to setting and styling every night or every other night. The other part is… well, no, that’s pretty much it. Right. Well, here’s video!

    Leave a Reply

