Fried Chicken and Grease

Recently, I heard about a growing trend in the natural hair community: using Crisco vegetable shortening in the hair! I see you’re giving the screen the side-eye. I understand, but I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews. Everyone who has tried it just loves how their hair responds. So being the adventurous spirit that I am, I decided to give it a try (after all, it’s like $3 in the local grocery store, if I don’t like it, I can always use the rest for cooking). It’s created using hydrogenated palm oil (the process of hydrogenation is pumping water into an oil while mixing it at a high temperature. It’s actually how mango, shea, and other butters are produced).

I know, I know, you’re still skeptical, but people have been using Crisco for hair and skin for many, many years. No, your hair won’t smell like fried chicken (lol), it has virtually no scent at all. Contrary to the title above, it isn’t greasy. In fact, mine came out with the consistency if a whipped shea butter or a thicker whipped cream. I whipped up a mix very loosely based off of Calvis J. Williamson’s (The Coiffed Cafe) recipe on YT using my fav conditioner (Suave Naturals Tropical Coconut, so it smells like delicious coconut), but I’m still testing results on my hair. If you’re just as adventurous as me and you’d rather try it out yourself instead of waiting on me to “review,” below is the video for Calvis J. Williamson’s recipe. Feel free to make changes and insert your favorite products.

P.S. if you missed my hairstyle tutorial on YT, check it out here:
Black & Bohemian

One thought on “Fried Chicken and Grease

Leave a Reply

