Kitchen Chemistry// DIY Beauty Products

20121111-154327.jpg

I have been really into DIY beauty products lately, from homemade face primer to facial toner, all with products I had stored in my kitchen.

The other day, I started experimenting and concocted a facial scrub with an abundance of antioxidants, antibacterial and exfoliating properties. I’ve used it a total of three times thus far and I love it… except for the smell. It smells like a Barnes & Noble would if it were closed up for a week and a large container of used coffee grounds were left out; a lot like musty books and old coffee with sugar. Pretty gross. I doubt any essential oil would help, save coffee bean or ginger, and a lot of it. Fortunately, the recipe works so well I can forgive the offense.

I used a number of ingredients recognized for their anti-aging benefits and stimulating skin cell regeneration; used coffee grounds (potent antioxidant), green tea (antioxidant), cinnamon (anti-fungal, antibacterial, anti-inflammatory, astringent), nutmeg, brown sugar, EVOO (anti-bacterial) white sugar, and a wee bit of apple cider vinegar (astringent, antibacterial, pH balance corrector), ginger (antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, promotes smoothness and evenness of skin tone, antiseptic, cellulite-reducer, lightens ages spots), and lemon juice (dark spot correcting). When I use it my skin comes out soft and smooth, I feel awake and refreshed, and from the last three times I used it, I’ve noticed a considerable improvement in my skin’s clarity and evenness. If I could just get rid of that smell!

20121111-145104.jpg20121111-145207.jpgLooks gross too, but whatever! It works!

I also made a homemade lip scrub out of clove-olive oil and sugar with ginger. Honestly, that one I don’t really know about just yet. My lips chap less and they stay softer for a longer period of time, I’ve noticed, but I haven’t used it enough to really say whether it works consistently (I’ve only used it once or twice).

20121111-151742.jpg

I made a facial toner out of apple cider vinegar, a little aloe vera juice, and water. I use it in conjunction with my concocted face scrub and I’d say it works a lot better than a store-bought toner. In truth, all a store-bought toner really contains is alcohol and perfume/fragrance. Why pay for it when you probably already have acv, alcohol, and/or essential oils lying around the house?

20121111-152524.jpgI store it in an old Sea Breeze bottle, as you can see.

The primer I made was nothing more than aloe vera gel, a moisturizer, and loose powder. I’m still perfecting this one so I don’t have much to say about it. This batch is ok, I guess. more loose powder is probably the key.

20121111-152646.jpg

Now, I’m looking up recipes for homemade gel eyeliner and other DIY beauty products!

Do you mix your own products at home?

One thought on “Kitchen Chemistry// DIY Beauty Products

Leave a Reply

