90 Days of Updos

Sooo I DO NOT like protective styling, save braid and twist extensions, let’s get that out of the way. However, after leaving genie locs/yarn braids in for far too long (a little over 2 months), I may have to do some protective styling whether I like it or not. That’s what I get for being lazy. It’s so easy to fall into that trap when it comes to protective styling. It’s not a set-it-and-forget-it type of thing.

I had to cut 2 1/2″ of my hair for splits and incomplete splits. Am I upset about it? Yes and no. I’m upset I had to cut off so much, but I know in the long run my hair is better off for it. Plus, my hair is only about a 1/2″ shorter than when I trimmed before putting in the genie locs so it’s really no major loss. So now I’ve resolved to do 90 days of protective styling and then check my growth. I’m on day 4. I don’t like it, but maybe protective styling is something like beer, an acquired taste.

20121009-092930.jpg20121009-092952.jpg

These photos are darker than I would like, but they serve their purpose. This is my starting length. Not much shorter than before.

For my first week of protective styling, I decided on something outside of my comfort zone (well, that’s just about any updo, really) so I’ve styled my hair after Janelle Monae. It’s medium two strand twists rolled into a pompadour. Just a minute. Let me take a quick pic.

20121009-111811.jpg

Not really my style, but I guess it looks ok. Three more days and I’ll have to find something else. If anyone has any protective style ideas, ones that I can do in twists, post a link to the pic or vid. I think I’ll do a Marley pony or bun next until then. Peace peace.

P.S. I just realized I missed my 3 year anniversary of being natural!

Leave a Reply

